Generate font-metrics for True Type Fonts

Just a quick post on how to generate a Font-metrics file for a ttf available with you. The other day I was hitting FOP, I searched throughout the web googled around,checked out all the links in the search results that my dear friend Google thrown at me.

They talk of using the F.O.P. jar and a couple other jars to do this, but I couldn’t get it working, so finally I thought to look into my favorite O.S. (Ubuntu – I love it!!!) ,and yeah there’s an fop package available with a utility to do this.

All you need to do is :

sudo apt-get install fop

and then :

fop-ttfreader 'ttf file' 'name of the metrics file'

these two magical commands help you out in a jiff, if you are on Linux. 🙂

About Prince Sewani

Geeky, Technology Enthusiast, Philosopher, Keen Observer and a perfect communicator, I never hold myself for what I gotta say, I just wait and formulate it with right words and phrases. P.S. : These are my original creations and request you not to copy, should it be found that way, I'll be forced to take legal actions.
This entry was posted in Technology-miscs, Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

